Getting to know you: Food and friends

I’ve been spoiled.

I grew up in a house with a mother raised on a farm and a cooking repertoire to match: fresh, filling meals that made staying in more of a treat than dining out. I was in college before I realized you could buy salad already put together in a bag, or cheese pre-shredded in the dairy aisle.

Today, the majority of the meals in my regular rotation are hand-me-downs from her, Hungarian goulash, rolled meatloaf, tuna casserole (ok, that one came from dad); and, this one for banana bread, that she found in an old church cookbook (is there anything better?). I prefer it with walnuts, but lately have been omitting them so my one-year-old son can have some “nana” bread, which he loves.

I’ll have a post coming soon about my meal planning strategy and how I organize my recipes — until then, enjoy this simple bread. It’s great for breakfast, a snack, even dessert. I grew up putting butter on it, but you can also be a purist like my husband and eat it plain.

Tip: I run my bananas through a blender/food processor instead of mashing them; it gives the bread a great consistency, free from lumps – awesome if you have texture-picky eaters in your house :).

bread pics 020

Banana Bread

  • Β½ c. vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1Β½ c. sugar
  • 2 eggs, well beaten
  • β…“ c. buttermilk or sour cream
  • 3 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • ΒΌ tsp. salt
  • 1 c. walnuts
  • 1Β½ c. sifted flour

Cream oil and sugar. Add eggs and salt and mix well. Combine flour and baking soda; add to wet mixture alternately with buttermilk. Add bananas. Fold in nuts. Grease and flour two large loaf pans or four mini pans. Pour in mixture and bake for 40-45 minutes at 350 degrees. Freezes well.

3 thoughts on “Getting to know you: Food and friends

  1. Pingback: “Tuna toast!” | The Sensible Home

  2. Pingback: Stuffed shells 2-for-1 | The Sensible Home

  3. Pingback: The stories my kitchen tells | The Sensible Home

Leave a Reply

