Thankful moments

Aside from all the genuine things I’m thankful for — family, friends and other blessings —there are lots of tiny details that I am also grateful to have. What are your everyday gifts?

  • Flavored prescription medications. Owen has struggled with frequent ear infections, and getting him to take the liquid antibiotics has been a bear – until we had Walgreens add apple flavoring to his last dose. No problems since.
  • Too much to read. I have a “stack” of books (both hard copies and Kindle versions) waiting to be read, and I love it. Follow me on GoodReads to see what I liked, what went straight to the Goodwill bin, and what’s on my list to tackle.
  • Good pens. I’m obsessive about my writing utensils – I prefer pens, ballpoint, medium tip. I choose a pen each morning based on my mood. I’m also crazy about colored fine-tip Sharpies, and my ultimate all-time favorite  are the PaperMate Flair felt-tip pens. I have them in every color and use them both at home and at work.
  • No snow. We spent six years living in the frozen tundra known as northwest Pennsylvania, and my Southern temperament never warmed up (haha) to the six-month barrage of foot upon foot of the white stuff, that never melts, never moves, never causes anything to close. I am thankful every.single.day that we now live in a place that not only gets 75% less snow, but also recognizes the morale-boosting power of snow days. Enjoy your white Thanksgiving – I’ll be hosting an after-dinner stroll around the snow-free block.

Wishing you and yours a safe, warm and plentiful Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

