Toy Story birthday party: The food

Fotor1203125546

This is part one in a series of posts recapping my son’, Toy-Story-themed second birthday party. Go HERE for the initial post, or check out the details on the DECORATIONS and ACTIVITIES.

I wanted to host an early-evening heavy hors d’oeuvres party that would kick off shortly after Owen woke up from his nap, leaving enough time for people to enjoy dessert. (No one’s leaving this house without eating some cake.) (Bonus points for catching the Adventures in Babysitting reference.) (Best. Movie. EVER.) I matched the foods to Toy Story characters or places, and made food label tents using THESE digital scrapbooking papers from the Etsy shop, Delightful Digitals.

MENU:

Woody’s Trail Mix

Al’s Cheese Puffs

Hamm’s Mini Pinwheels (recipe HERE)

Sunnyside Fruits & Veggies (along with cheese & crackers; fruit dip recipe HERE)

Mr. Potato Head’s Spuds (chips & dip)

Slinky Dogs (pigs in a blanket)

Pizza Planet Pizza Bites

Buzz’s Space Balls (meatballs, recipe HERE)

Bullseye’s Watering Hole (beverages)

Fotor1203130216

I ordered the cake from a local bakery, using THIS picture from Salt Cake City as inspiration; I asked for buttercream instead of fondant, both for taste and price. If you’re in the Miami Valley, Ohio, area, I highly recommend The Cakery – they did a bang-up job on the cake, it tasted amazing (I went with the marble) and their customer service was easy and awesome. I ordered cutout sugar cookies locally from Just a Girl Bakes, and was beyond happy with them. She threw in a couple extras, hand-delivered them to my house the day before the party, and was quick to respond to questions (and they looked and tasted fantastic). We got lots of compliments on both!

water bottles 2

I ordered THESE water bottle labels from Etsy seller DigiPartyShoppe and was so happy with how they turned out – I had the digital file emailed to me in less than 24 hours, and had them printed, cut, and taped to the bottles (I used clear packing tape) all in under an hour. An easy and quick way to take your party a step above. (My only wish is that I had an easier time finding matching 2-liter bottles; I’m sure someone on Etsy could have done a custom request, but I didn’t go that far.)

Last, I created some cup labels using printable sticker paper and the digital scrapbook paper mentioned above, so guests could mark their cups. I also used them to label lemonade and tea pitchers. HERE is a similar template, with the backgrounds left blank for you to fill in. To add a picture: Click on the outer circle. From the tab menu, click Format > Fill > Fill effects > Fill > Picture or texture > From file: Choose picture > Ok.

5 thoughts on “Toy Story birthday party: The food

  1. Pingback: I just love the smell of fresh Post-its on Jan. 1 | The Sensible Home

  2. Pingback: Happy birthday, The Sensible Home! | The Sensible Home

  3. Pingback: You say it’s your birthday: Toy Story party recap | The Sensible Home

  4. Pingback: Toy Story birthday party: The decorations | The Sensible Home

  5. Pingback: Toy Story birthday party: The activities | The Sensible Home

Leave a Reply

