Pillow talk

20131222-205305.jpg

We’re about to take our first road trip with Owen’s car seat facing forward, and I felt like he needed something special to mark the occasion. I give you: a celebratory pillowcase. Also known as something quick, easy and practical.

Mine is sized to fit a toddler pillow (about 13×17”). I used some green cotton fabric I had on hand and cut two squares an inch or so bigger than the above dimensions. Place the right sides together (so, the sides you want shown at the end), pin around the edges to keep them straight, and sew a straight stitch down both long sides and one short side. Turn right side out. Fold the open short side in an inch (or more, depending on how wide a hem you want) and sew another straight stitch around it to create a finished opening. I added a strip of red rickrack as an embellishment, but you could leave it as is, or add ribbon. I wanted to embroider his name above the rickrack, but my machine and I had a parting of the ways that evening. Maybe for 2014?

I also thought about adding a pocket to the backside, so he could add a small book or toy, but I think I’ll wait until he’s graduated to a full-size pillow to do that; this one’s too small for any sort of useful pocket.

That’s it. In 15 minutes you’ve just elevated a boring car ride to a special treat. (Or, at least given the car’s smallest occupants a few minutes of distraction.)

I’ll be back after the holidays. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, y’all!

One thought on “Pillow talk

  1. Pingback: A very merry Christmas | The Sensible Home

Leave a Reply

