Y’all come on in

Hey Y'all Wall Art

When I was in 8th grade, I took a career aptitude test that declared I’d be perfect for exactly three jobs: taxi driver, chef or interior designer.

I’m now a journalist-turned-higher-ed-communications-professional. Clearly, that test was a reliable predictor of the future.

What it did do accurately, though, was highlight the things I enjoyed: talking to people and sharing stories, cooking for family and friends, and decorating.

This spring has been super busy for us, and last weekend I was itching to get in my craft room and come out with something finished in the ongoing quest to make our house a home. This wall art is that product, and it makes me smile every time I walk through the foyer. Or, in Southern-speak: I’m happier than a pig in slop.

Hey Y'all Wall Art

I started with this clearance frame from JoAnn Fabrics. I wanted a plain white frame with a mat, but the price was right on this one to make it worth painting.

Hey Y'all Wall Art

I used a spray paint primer specifically for plastic, let that dry, then sprayed on a single coat of white semigloss spray paint.

Hey Y'all Wall Art

While that was drying, I cut some fabric in a slightly larger square than the mat, then cut an X shape using an Xacto knife in the open center portion. I folded each piece of fabric tightly around the mat, using spray adhesive to keep it in place. Since the finished product was going in a frame with a glass front and cardboard back, I didn’t worry about getting it too secure. Just enough to hold it in place. This buffalo check fabric (color: linen) is also what’s going on my dining room chair seats, the room just off the foyer where I hung this wall art, and I’m in love with it.

Hey Y'all Wall Art

Last, I used my Silhouette to cut out the letters, using the Impact font. I played around with the sizing and did the HEY first, stretching it until it took up half an 8x5x11″ sheet of paper, then copy and pasted it and retyped in Y’ALL so both words matched in size. I used a yardstick and measured out margins on a blank piece of posterboard, then used an adhesive glue roller to stick the letters on. For a final touch, I found a dogwood image in the Silhouette store and cut it out in a darker shade of brown. Done!

Hey Y'all Wall Art

Y’all come over anytime.

3 thoughts on “Y’all come on in

  1. Pingback: A few of my favorite things | The Sensible Home

  2. Pingback: First impressions (A foyer reveal) | The Sensible Home

  3. Pingback: DIY tissue box cover | The Sensible Home

Leave a Reply

