China cabinet stylin’

sage white burlap dining room

I’d been putting it off, but when faced with an unexpected “arctic blast day” this January that kept us homebound, I managed to rummage around the house and get my dual dining room china cabinets styled (and all during a naptime, thankyouverymuch.)

I went with a white/off-white color scheme to match the dishes, then threw in some green and purple accents to match the rest of the room and play off the adjoining kitchen. I put in the dishes first, then poked around for accessories that made sense. I didn’t have to paint anything white, but I would have if I thought it made sense. Some highlights:

sage white burlap dining room

Cabinet A stores my wedding china, Opal Innocence by Lenox. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this pattern, and I’m a big believer in using your china often. I’ll break it out for a random Saturday breakfast or Valentine’s Day or because it’s 84 degrees out. It helps that this line is actually dishwasher-safe, too.

sage white burlap dining room

I added some faux green apples and grapes, and two pictures of my grandmas when they were in their teens/twenties. I used basic clear plate stands to help the side and back dishes stand up.

sage white burlap dining room

I love that a doored china cabinet gives me a space to display things I love to look at, but don’t necessarily “use” and want to keep a bit protected. This mini porcelain spoon was given to me nearly 20 years ago now by my grandma, who found it at an antique store and used it in her coffee creamer.

sage white burlap dining room

The lantern is from Ikea, and I filled it with wine corks we’ve saved over the years. It would have been cute to write the date and/or occasion on each cork, or keep them organized by year, etc., but I didn’t think that far ahead when I started throwing them in Ziploc bags.

sage white burlap dining room

Cabinet B stores my partyware, another wedding gift (I know, I’m spoiled), from Gibson. This comes in handy when you have a large crowd or want to mix-and-match with other pieces. I also added two more vintage pictures of my grandma, one of which I found using Ancestry.com from her high school yearbook. (Side note: If you’re at all interested in genealogy, I highly recommend the site. I received a gift subscription for six months as a Christmas gift in 2012, and have kept renewing it ever since.)

sage white burlap dining room

I got this candle snifter as a Christmas present last year from my grandma, along with the silver chafing dish seen in the back of Cabinet A. A local historical home was closing up shop, and she picked up a bunch of goodies and played Santa :). I love adding pieces that have both a story and make me smile.

sage white burlap dining room

I found this cutie at a local antique mall for a couple bucks, and it’s the perfect example of both functional and decorative. The silver adds some nice texture to the rest of the cabinet’s white and glass, but it’s nice and hefty and could certainly be used as a creamer or syrup pitcher at breakfast. To its right sits the unity candle from our wedding in a simple silver candle pedestal that was gifted to me by a coworker at my first post-grad job.

sage white burlap dining room

The vase is an old Edible Arrangements container I picked up for pennies at a tag sale. I (literally) threw in a faux plant found at Ikea and done!

Still to do: refinish and reupholster the dining room chairs and buffet, add wall art, figure out what the heck to do with the so-so light fixture, and win the lottery so we can remove the AWFUL 80s-fabulous ridged gray carpet.

4 thoughts on “China cabinet stylin’

  1. Pingback: A few of my favorite things | The Sensible Home

  2. Pingback: Speaking of cranberries | The Sensible Home

  3. Pingback: Half-finished is better than not-started | The Sensible Home

  4. Pingback: The stories my kitchen tells | The Sensible Home

Leave a Reply

