GOOOAAALLL(s)

Anyone else following World Cup fever? I’m not an avid soccer fan by any means, but it’s fun to follow along (and Owen is a fan of anything that involves flying balls).

It’s also midway through 2014 — time to check in on those New Year’s goals I made what seems like 52, not 25, weeks ago.

midyear goal checkin annual household chore calendar

DONE: Finally implementing my tickler system of home maintenance. I am LOVING my annual chore calendar, and I’m happy to say it’s still alive and kickin’. I’ve added a few cards and nixed a few as we go through the year, and it has seriously reduced my home management-related stress level by 500% or so.

boy and dog go dog go birthday party

DONE: Murphy’s fifth birthday party was a success! I posted a recap HERE of our Go Dog Go-themed shindig. Owen is still playing with the stoplight ball toss, but even better? He and Murph are becoming best buds more and more each day.

vera bradley kindle cover goodreads

IN PROGRESS: Less random Internet browsing, more actual book reading. I’ve read four books so far this year, and am halfway through a fifth, which is below what I would have clocked a decade ago but certainly more than I’ve managed in the last couple of years, so I’m happy with it. My list:

  • Twisted Sisters by Jen Lancaster (this needs to be a movie)
  • The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (will need a bottle of wine and 5,000 Kleenex to get through this movie)
  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (obsessively waiting for the movie)
  • The Theory of Opposites by Allison Winn Scotch (My husband wants to know why all the books I pick are about unhappy marriages.) (Not true. I also read a love story about two kids with cancer. So there.)

Having a Kindle definitely helps — with the app, I can read a few pages in a waiting room or at lunch instead of needing the book with me. Follow me on GoodReads to see what’s on my list next.

luggage storage closet

IN PROGRESS: Fixing the craziness that is our luggage/handbag closet. I managed to get all the bags out of the closet, edited out ones to throw away or donate, wash them all, and sort them by type (purse, wallet, suitcase, tote, etc.). Last weekend, we brainstormed what type of shelving we’d like and measured the space. Next up: buy the wood and some new flooring (yes, Pepto carpet is still there).

closet clutter pantry extension project

IN MY HEAD: Converting our pantry into a walk-in one by extending it into an unused closet space. Not surprisingly, my most ambitious goal has yet to be accomplished, but we have had several conversations about it, which is something. First, we have to completely empty the closet behind the pantry, which has become something of ground zero for all-the-crap-that-doesn’t-live-elsewhere since we moved. I did manage to start (slooowwly) organizing one shelf last weekend.

The husband postponed house projects while studying for a big work-related test in early June, then it was Father’s Day, then we were on vacation. But now? It’s game on, my friends. Game. On.

2 thoughts on “GOOOAAALLL(s)

  1. Yeah, I refuse to see TFIOS in the theater because that’s going to be a serious ugly cry. I just finished reading “An Abundance of Katherines” this afternoon. I’ve also read “Paper Towns” and “Looking for Alaska” and to be honest, I can’t decide if I really like his writing, or if I just like John Green. I discovered his brother’s YouTube channel a long time ago, and it lead me to Vlogbrothers and Crash Course, and I have a serious crush on John Green; he’s just so cute!

    Like

Leave a Reply

