Happy, happy, joy, joy

30 inspirational quotes | The Sensible Home{Source}

I hear that mercury is still in retrograde, which if I understand astrology correctly, means the floodgates of crazy have opened.

30 inspirational quotes | The Sensible Home{Source}

I’ve found that to be true for the past three weeks, so maybe there’s some sort of gearing-up time involved? I’ve found myself visiting my Happy Book a lot lately for inspiration and solace. I started it in college, and it’s just a journal that holds my favorite quotes, notes and uplifting thoughts. I’ve used it to send notes to friends, fill cards, post at work, share on social media, and brighten my day. And based on how 2015 is going for most everyone around me, we could all use a little brightening. Here are a few of my favorites:

  1. I always wondered why blessings wore disguises; if I were a blessing, I’d run around naked. ~Sophia Petrillo (Estelle Getty), Golden Girls
  2. People have lives. Just because they decide to live them doesn’t mean you suck. ~Don’t Sleep with Your Drummer by Jen Sincero
  3. If the light goes out…wear it around your neck and go dancing. ~If You’re Afraid of the Dark Remember the Night Rainbow by Cooper Edens
  4. It’s only possible to live happily-ever-after on a day-to-day basis. ~Margaret Bonanno
  5. The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes. ~Marcel Proust
  6. I cannot give you the formula for success, but I can give you the formula for failure: try to please everyone. ~Herbert B. Swope
  7. I am not in this world to live up to other people’s expectations, nor do I feel that the world must live up to mine. ~Fritz Perls
  8. The weak can never forgive. Forgiveness is the attribute of the strong. ~Gandhi
  9. Forgiveness does not change the past, but it does enlarge the future. ~Paul Boese
  10. A person without a sense of humor is like a wagon without springs. It’s jolted by every pebble on the road. ~Henry Ward Beecher
  11. It is in vain to expect our prayers to be heard if we do not strive as well as pray. ~Aesop
  12. If an ‘A’ is a success in life, then A = x + y + z. Work is ‘x’; ‘y’ is play; and ‘z’ is keeping your mouth shut. ~Albert Einstein
  13. Happiness is a journey, not a destination. ~Anonymous
  14. Fear less, hope more; whine less, breathe more; talk less, say more; hate less, love more; and all good things are yours. ~Swedish Proverb
  15. No one can make you feel inferior without your consent. ~Eleanor Roosevelt
  16. God gave us burdens, but also shoulders. ~Yiddish Proverb
  17. Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm. ~Winston Churchill
  18. Being happy doesn’t mean everything’s perfect. It means you’ve decided to see beyond the imperfections. ~Unknown
  19. Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a harder battle. ~Plato
  20. God gave people a mouth that closes and ears that don’t, which should tell us something. ~Unknown
  21. Don’t miss out on a blessing because it wasn’t packaged the way you expected. ~Unknown
  22. A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort. ~Herm Albright
  23. We could learn a lot from crayons; some are sharp, some are pretty, some are dull, while others bright, some have weird names, but they all have learned to live together in the same box. –Robert Fulghum
  24. There are many little ways to enlarge your child’s world. Love of books is the best of all. ~Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis
  25. Peace: it does not mean to be in a place where there is no noise, trouble or hard work. It means to be in the midst of those things and still be calm in your heart. ~Unknown
  26. I cannot believe that the purpose of life is to be happy. I think the purpose of life is to be useful, to be responsible, to be compassionate. It is, above all to matter, to count, to stand for something, to have made some difference that you lived at all. ~Leo Rosten
  27. So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. ~Matthew 6:34
  28. Lack of direction, not lack of time, is the problem. We all have 24-hour days. ~Zig Ziglar
  29. When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left and could say, “I used everything you gave me.” ~Erma Bombeck
  30. You cannot prevent the birds of sadness from passing over your head, but you can prevent them from making a nest in your hair.

30 inspirational quotes | The Sensible Home{Source}

What would you add?

One thought on “Happy, happy, joy, joy

Leave a Reply

