No girls? No problem.

 

How to shadowbox a family heirloom | The Sensible Home

The only thing that’s traveled around my family more than my christening gown is the story behind it. (Well, that, and my grandma’s popcorn ball recipe. Both representing skill sets I have yet to master.)

How to shadowbox a family heirloom | The Sensible Home

My grandma made this gown for me, in a week, for fun; it took me longer than a week to gather the crafting supplies I needed to shadowbox it. Which is what I decided to do with it when we learned that we’d be adding another son to our family. It’s too pretty to hang, covered in yellowing cellophane, in the back of a closet. If no baby girls are around to wear it, no matter. It makes me smile and it’s going on the nursery wall.

It’s also a nice visual reminder that my sewing skills will likely top out at pillowcases. (Note to my 10-year-0ld self: You really should pay attention to grandma’s sewing lessons. You’ll want that know-how in 20 years when Pinterest comes calling.)

How to shadowbox a family heirloom | The Sensible Home

I found a rustic-looking shadowbox 50% off at Hobby Lobby, then covered the back panel with a layer of quilt batting (which I already had lying around from reupholstering our dining room chairs), followed by a layer of drop cloth fabric (take that, stupid curtain project). I gave the drop cloth a good iron first. And used duct tape, which is super classy. (But easy and efficient, so I’m okay with that.)

Then, I just smoothed out the dress and used basic straight dress pins to tack it to the fabric-covered panel, gathered the skirt at the bottom, and popped it into place in the shadowbox (which I gave a good dusting/Windexing to first). Ready to hang!

How to shadowbox a family heirloom | The Sensible Home

It’s easily removable if ever it’s needed, but maybe after being worn by half a dozen or so girls in the family since me, it’s ready for some R&R as wall art.

That’s a blue-ribbon craft in my book.

How to shadowbox a family heirloom | The Sensible Home

One thought on “No girls? No problem.

  1. Pingback: Little lamb nursery reveal | The Sensible Home

Leave a Reply

